Hand-Me-Downs

Daily Prompts

Yesterday’s prompt from The Daily Post. Sorry I’m a bit late on this.

Clothes and toys, recipes and jokes, advice and prejudice: we all have to handle all sorts of hand-me-downs every day. Tell us about some of the meaningful hand-me-downs in your life.

Hand-Me-Downs don’t stay very long in my world. They often get lost under piles of more relevant items almost as soon as they get passed onto me. I’d completely forget about their existence until I stumble upon them on accident, and even when that happens I only react with a nostalgic smile. So no tangible hand-me-down has ever left a lasting impression on me.

But I my father did hand me down something that I experience every day: the night owl gene. I didn’t really have to put that gift to use until junior year of high school when I adopted a horrible habit called procrastination. In the three years since then, I’ve rarely gone to sleep before 1 a.m., and I’ve never had any problem staying awake. Like right now: 1.51 a.m. and I’m still blogging. Waking up in the morning is a different story; I’m the kind of person who needs to set the alarm five different times to wake up. Of everyone in my family, my dad and I are the only ones who can be writing and reading at 3 a.m. on a daily basis but can’t wake up before 7 a.m. even if we go to sleep before midnight. His hand-me-down has given me plenty of dark circles and A papers and memorable subway rides with creepy hobos, but it’s also given me a hundred tardies in high school and a thousand torturous mornings when I felt like hanging myself rather than waking up and walking to class. This precious and inescapable hand-me-down has created some of the most exhilarating and most depressing moments of my life. So, thank you dad. Thanks very much.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/hand-me-downs/

Leave a Reply

