Mom Who?

Daily Prompts

Delayed Contact

How would you get along with your sibling(s), parent(s), or any other person you’ve known for a long time — if you only met them for the first time today?

This prompt reminds me of S.J Watson’s Before I Fall Asleep, which tells the story of a woman who gets severe brain damage after a horrific assault and loses her memory every night after she falls asleep, waking up scared and disoriented every morning. The book is crap-ish but it does make me wonder how I’d react if I wake up one morning in a strange house with a bunch of people I supposedly love but don’t remember a thing about.

And the truth is I’d probably assume my “family” were a bunch of actors hired by a tyrannical government to do some messed up scientific experiment on me (you know, kind of like what happens in Divergent and The Maze Runner) and I’d start freaking the fuck out (a.k.a scream, thrash about, and stab someone if I can find anything sharp). Then one of two things would happen:

1) If in my frenzied state I don’t manage to kill any of my kin, I’d get locked up in a cage, presumably in the middle of the living room where my “brother” or “parents” can feed me bananas or water or steak as if I were a fucking monkey. After four weeks, my weary “family,” finally tired of my incessant ear-splitting screams in the cage, decides that I’ve finally lost my marbles and sends me to some high security psychiatric ward. I never hear from them again and die a sad, lonely death in a cold, hard bunk.

2) If in my frenzied state I do manage to slay one of my kin (let’s say Mom), my other “family members” would assume that I’m an evil assassin clone of their abducted daughter and penetrate my cloned heart with a butter knife. Once my dad and brother realize that I’m actually their real daughter who was meeting them for the first time, they gasp in horror and faint with the knife in one of their hands. The neighbors, having heard the dying screams, call the cops, who arrive at my “house” and see the dead bodies. Dad and bro regains consciousness at that precise moment. Cops name them the culprits and jail them for life.

Seeing how both scenarios are bleak as fuck, let’s hope I never have to lose my memory and meet my family for the first time any day. But all jokes aside, I’m sure we would get along fine after some awkward introductions. I mean for God’s sake, I’m the splitting image of my mom, so there’s no way I’d actually think she’s a hired actor for some freaky experiment.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/delayed-contact/

Leave a Reply

