Twice is Nice

Musings/Rants

You know how people say stuff like, “there’s nothing like the first time,” and “go with you first choice,” and “first impressions speak volumes?” While I’m sure that’s all true, I just never understood the hype with “firsts.” Yes, with some experiences nothing can surpass the original. Like watching slapstick movies: the first time you’ll probably laugh your ass off, the second time you’ll probably think it’s stupid as hell, and there will be no third time. Or like being pranked: first time is funny, second time you just wanna kill that person. Some things are only meant to be experienced once.

But I think most things are meant to grow on you. Like books. When I first read A Game of Thrones last summer, I didn’t really get it. Sure, it was dramatic and interesting and very graphic, but the writing was so archaic and confusing and long. Very, very long. I only finished half of it (a.k.a 400+ pages) before I went off to college and forgot all about it for the next half a year. Then my friend got obsessed with the adapted HBO series and, being the trend-follower I am, I decided to jump on the bandwagon. Two weeks later I caught up with all 34 episodes released to date (at that time, just after Season 4 aired). Since the series was so epic, I thought it was only fair to give the books another chance. And the second time around I picked up details I missed the first time, cleared up plot points I didn’t understand before, and just got hooked all over again. I don’t know if this is a good example, but basically what I’m trying to say is that the second time can be even more enlightening and refreshing than the first. Maybe we need familiarity to shed light on the original. Some things deserve a second chance.

Leave a Reply

