The Equality Complex

Daily Prompts, My Awesome Life

Did you know today is Blog Action Day? Join bloggers from around the world and write a post about what inequality means to you. Have you ever encountered it in your daily life?

I think we’ve all experienced inequality in our lives, maybe even on a daily basis. It’s inherent in not only our social structure but also our genetics. Forget that “nature likes balance” bullshit. Men and women are born with different characteristics, as are the Caucasians and the Mongolians…so inequality is pretty much an inescapable and ineradicable component of this fucked up world we live in. Most people think of inequality as a virus that comes in many vicious forms – sexism, racism, homophobia. I’ve experienced the first two on many an occasion, and there is no point in sharing my examples because they’re exactly like every other story you’ve heard a million times over: given weird looks by my fellow 5th graders because of stupid accent, not being allowed to play games because I’m “yellow,” or more recently, being told I’m not allowed to comment on crude topics because I didn’t have a dick. Nothing unheard of at all. Minor incidents like these happen to everyone everyday. It’s natural.

And here’s the thing: I don’t love inequality but it’s not something I have any desire to fight against. Gender discrimination probably affects me more than any other form of inequality, but I don’t share the same enthusiasm and attitude as feminists. I’m not a feminist. And that’s not because I think it is anti-men but because it’s too idealistic and too black-and-white (although to be perfectly honest some feminists do come off as anti-men). If we are not obligated to cook and clean the house every goddamn day, why should guys to obligated to pay for our meals?

HONY posted a picture of this really cute Italian dude on Facebook; in the caption, he said back in college he was stripped down to his boxers and marched around campus by some assholes from a frat. In the comment section a bunch of stupid girls were saying shit like, “ohh I would have loved to see him in his boxers lolol. Like if you agree!!” While I wouldn’t have minded seeing that either, it’s such an insensitive fucking thing to say, considering how traumatic the experience must have been for him. Now imagine if he were a girl, stripped down to her bra and underwear. What if a bunch of guys start making dumb jokes about what they’d do to her? They’d probably be called rapists and creeps by the same girls who objectified the Italian boy. Why the fuck is that any more okay than men expecting to be paid more than women in the same profession?

Our genetic discrepancies formed the basis of screwed social attitudes. Maybe I’m just overly cynical, but I don’t think inequality will go away as long as those discrepancies exist. Different groups of people will always have different ideals; some are just more willing to compromise.

7 thoughts on “The Equality Complex

  1. You write well because you don’t address the theme by following the crowd who chooses the cliche of polarization and dogmatism to talk about inequality.
    It’s true that it’s been there forever in different shapes and colors, and it doesn’t mean that we should accept it just because we acknowledge their endless existence; but this doesn’t mean that we fight inequality by repeating the behavior of those who practice it. I fully agree with you.

    I have experienced ‘differences’ and some as inequalities, when they served to single me out and were used against me.
    Being who I’m, depending on who looks at me, can serve equal and unequal perceptions. I’m a woman, speaking with a different (regional) accent both for my mother tongue and other foreign languages, I’m a foreigner, I’m….many other things that will attract or irritate some people and subject me to what they consider inequalities.

    Does that make me feel unequal? No. That’s their problem with their projections, not mine.
    It makes me stronger.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

