Nov 1st. Goodbye Fall

Daily Prompts, Musings/Rants

So I guess we’re down to the final two months of 2014. I really should be used to it now, but it still amazes me just how fast time flies by when you’re not paying attention. My attitude about time is pretty clear: I always wish it would slow down (except during math class and awkward conversations). That way you can actually take a moment to access your situation and understand the person you have become. We think we’re jogging side by side with time, living life to our own rhythm, then one day out of the blue we’ll wake up all confused and frantic, wondering how the fuck we went from smoking pot in the principal’s office to raising six grandchildren.

I’m not even 20 yet, and I’ve already had a few of those epiphanies. Just an hour ago I was flipping through the channels on TV when I stumbled into a replay of the 2008 Wimbledon Final between Nadal and Federer. It was one of those matches that you remember exactly where you were when you watched it. I was in a hotel in Christchurch, New Zealand, with my parents and brother. We were on a two-week road trip to the South Island during second semester break (we had four breaks). Fast forward six years: we’re in America, my parents are divorced, and my brother is almost half a foot taller than I. Was that really six years ago? It seems to have happened both yesterday and a million years ago, like a Victorian tragedy that occurred this morning. How did it all happen? I think if I had a moment in those last six years to reflect on what was happening, I would have seen what was to come. But retrospection happens after everything’s said and done; you can reflect and lament, but you can’t fix jack shit. Time doesn’t do pauses or rewinds.

So with that said, I’m totally prepared for November to zoom by as quickly as October did, although one thing we can do to slow life down is to take it one step at a time. Focus on smaller things rather than the larger, more abstract picture. I think taking part in the NaBloPoMo and writing one post a day may help with that. Making every second count, one post a time.

5 thoughts on “Nov 1st. Goodbye Fall

  1. I love your perspective on this. We all (well, most of us I think) wish time would stop passing so quickly, but time doesn’t slow down so the best we can do is adapt and focus on making every second/hour/day/week count.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It seems to have happened both yesterday and a million years ago” is a perfect and spot-on way to describe how it feels to look back at something in your past. I really liked that sentence, beautiful! Good luck with NaBloPoMo, we’re actually in November and I still can’t decide whether I want to do it or not! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

