Nevermind.

Daily Prompts

I have a shitty memory. When I listen to a song or poem, it’s always the impression, rather than the lyrics/verses, that stands out to me. What I mean is that I usually remember how a song/poem made me feel rather than what it is about. I can sing along to my favorite song when it comes on the radio, but I certainly can’t recite that shit by heart. Having said that, there is a part of one song that I can recite in my sleep:

Hello, hello, hello, how low? [x3]
Hello, hello, hello!

Yep. That tiny portion of Nirvana’s Smells Like Teen Spirit. Okay, on a good day I can probably recite this part, too:

With the lights out, it’s less dangerous
Here we are now, entertain us
I feel stupid and contagious
Here we are now, entertain us
A mulatto
An albino
A mosquito
My libido

Let’s be honest, the last four lines are more like this:

A MULATTOOOOOO
AN ALBINOOOOOO
A MOSQUITOOOOOO
MY LIBIDOOOOOOOOO

The reason why Teen Spirit is always hovering someone deep in my subconscious is pretty simple: I’m a confused, reckless, stupid teenager. Granted, I only have about five months left in this wonderful, screwed-up stage of life, but I don’t think I’ll be able to escape this teenage mindset until many years later. I’m still aimlessly searching for a sense of purpose, and I’m still trying to find my meaning in a world that has no meaning. I remember the lyrics because I’m still trying to figure out what they really mean. And it also helps that the lyrics are just so damn catchy.   

3 thoughts on “Nevermind.

  1. I’m not a teenager anymore but can’t remember lyrics just the music. So, don’t worry, this says more about what touches you first than about your memory.
    And regarding purpose, we keep changing ourselves and looking for it, as we evolve as human beings, and that’s ok too.
    Keep singing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

