Bite-sized Brains

Musings/Rants

Do you ever wondered how often the “9” button on the microwave is pressed?

I was thinking about that because my mom left me some noodles for lunch, but I was too lazy to heat it up so I just ate some cereal instead. The microwave is at once the most-used and most-underused device in the household. We use it almost everyday for almost any type of food – drinks, packaged food, left-overs, popcorn – but at the same, we only ever use half of it. When was the last time you hit any button on the top row? You only hear about one-minute Quiche, two-minute noodlesfive-minute brownies. Let’s be real, if you have to wait seven-minutes for the damn microwave, you might as well just get the pan out and cook something.

For whatever reason, we just don’t seem to have enough time. Everything in our lives somehow revolves around speed. How can I get the most done in the least amount of time? This attitude applies to communication more than anything else. The reason why news and social media have become intertwined is that we young people just can’t be bothered to open up a new tab on The NY Times or The Washington Post and search for serious shit ourselves. But being the narcissistic gossipers we are, of course we’d be on Facebook all the time, so the only way the government or whatever can get us updated on worldly affairs is by posting bite-sized headlines on the FB Home page for us to skim through while we’re stalking other people. It’s kind of sad, isn’t it?

I’m not sure if our short-attention span is a cultural thing or a hereditary thing. All I know is that actively seeking detailed and complicated information is a long and winding process that doesn’t appeal to me. And patience isn’t my strong suit. But despite all that, I believe we still need to put in that effort to learn new things, even if they don’t interest us as much. That nine-minute microwave chocolate cake probably tastes a thousand times better than anything you can get in two-minutes. You just have to be patient enough to see it through.

2 thoughts on “Bite-sized Brains

  1. Enjoyed your post as always ; on the 9 min chocolate cake; many years ago when I got my first microwave I was so excited and I made a cake in it , followed the instructions exactly and it was awful; so I never made a cake again in the microwave happy to say and my family are happy too , I use the oven for my cakes and the microwave occasionally to heat something up. I do sometimes wish I could make a rule in my family that at least some time is spent without technology but alas even us grannies and grandads are hooked on our techie stuff and take advantage of all the shortcuts; searching google to find out stuff instead of taking a book to read from cover to cover and enjoy the search; finding in the book much much more on the subject than what a google search throws up. So now you have enlightened me to spend more time reading rather than surfing, who said the elders taught the youth , I learn more from listening to my grown up children and young people than I do from many elders ,thank you for your post.

    Kind Regards Kathy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

