Back to December

My Awesome Life

It rained today for the first time in almost a year. It’s quite a refreshing start to December and a fitting end to 2014.

December’s always been a pretty memorable month for me. Two years ago I spent December holed up in my room bullshitting college apps. Last year I had my first White Winter in almost a decade. This year I’ll be in the hospital. Kidney transplant surgery in two days. I won’t go into too much detail because it’s personal and complicated, but it’s certainly a scary new experience. I was only hospitalized three other times in my life, all related to my kidney though never longer for a few days. This time I’ll be staying for a week then revisiting twice a week for the rest of December, so I may be MIA quite a bit this month. In a way, I probably would never have started blogging if it weren’t for this surgery. When I found out in late July that I had to skip a semester of school to prepare for the operation, I desperately wanted to find something meaningful to do. Until then school has always done that for me – giving me assignments and tests to invigorate my idle brain. Education automatically implies purpose. Without it I was going crazy, and that’s why I started a blog. Coming up with interesting topics and experimenting with different styles of blogging made the last six months an almost joyous experience. Occasionally I still felt lonely and frustrated, but blogging has been more therapeutic and rewarding than I could have ever imagined. I’m almost tempted to thank my crappy kidneys.

It’s hard to believe I’ve been part of the blogosphere for more than four months now. And I guess we’ve come full circle. In two days I’ll be undergoing the surgery that started this bizarre interval of my life, then everything will go back to where it was before. Everything except for blogging. Hopefully that will be part of my life for a very long time. This is my first ever December blog post; may it be the first of many to come.

8 thoughts on “Back to December

  1. Hey there!
    You’re a great blogger, and I can’t believe you’ve been doing it only four months! All your posts connect with me deeply, and i love reading them. Hope you have a safe surgery and come back soon.
    Have a good day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A day or so late in reading this …. perhaps you are in the hospital right now. Prayers and blessings for a successful operation.
    I can’t believe either that you’ve been blogging for only 4 months … you are like a pro !!! Hope all goes well and you will come return to blogging with a vengeance. Give us an update soon as you can. TC and very best

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

