Aaaaand I’m Back

My Awesome Life

I’ve moved out of the ICU into a normal pediatrics ward, which is weird because everyone here is between 6 and 18 years younger than I am. Dad thinks I’m asleep right now, and I should be at 12.35 a.m, but I think it’s about time I wrote a short update on what’s been happening.

At 4.40am yesterday morning, I arrived at Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center with my parents to check in for the transplant. The next few hours were spent signing papers and waiting, and the surgery didn’t begin till 7.30am. What happened during the surgery I had no idea, because I was, you know, drugged out. When I woke up, I had this tube thing attached to my bladder and a pretty sharp pain in the lower right side of my abdomen, where the surgeon cut open to insert my mother’s kidney inside me. Yep, it is my beautiful, selfless, extraordinary mother’s kidney that’s keeping my body healthy right now. I’ve never mentioned this before because I don’t think words can express my gratitude and love toward her. Although I don’t doubt that, given the opportunity, any mother would have donated an organ for her child, watching her being wheeled into the OR still made me feel like the luckiest person in the world.

Thankfully, she recovered real fast and was discharged after just a day. Life in the ICU was pretty great, actually. The nurses were incredible, drugging me up and bringing me whatever I needed before I even asked. I spent the majority of the days in bed, alternately sleeping and being checked up by doctors. Moving around hurts a bit, but I did take three agonizingly short walks down the corridor. Trust me, it felt like a mile. A few hours ago I was given the green light to consume solid food, so that’s something to look forward to.

I actually vowed to not post a single photo myself onΒ my blog, but alas I’ve never kept my vows anyway:
imageΒ imageΒ image

Alright, I think that’s as long as my sore neck (that’s where the IV tubes are attached) and sorer abdomen will allow me to abuse them today. Tomorrow I should feel better to write about something more enjoyable. Before I go, I just wanna say that I truly appreciate all the love and support from my family (who don’t follow my blog), friends, and fellow bloggers during the past few days. You gorgeous souls make me feel so happy to be alive in this beautiful world (I know that doesn’t sound like the usual me at all, but that’s honestly how I feel). Thank you.

10 thoughts on “Aaaaand I’m Back

  1. It’s great to know you are better! πŸ™‚ I’m not even kidding, but that first photo is probably the prettiest hospital photo I have ever seen! πŸ˜› I wish for you a speedy recovery! πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

  2. Happy kidney Birthday!! I’m so glad your surgery went well! What an amazing gift your mom was able to give you. Thanks for not keeping your vow. It’s nice to put a face with the stories. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My 2-hour hospital roomie actually said she celebrates her new kidney’s birthday every year with cupcakes and stuff. Not sure if I’ll take up the same tradition but that was interesting. And my mom is really too amazing to be human. Thank you so much for the support throughout this whole time!! I know you’ve commented on almost every post πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

