Holiday Blues

Daily Prompts

The holiday season: can’t get enough of it, or can’t wait for it all to be over already? Has your attitude toward the end-of-year holidays changed over the years?

Six days left to the most anticipated birthday of the year. Most people have probably started scouting around for trees and wrapping presents. My family hasn’t even mentioned the word “Christmas” yet. Truth is, Christmas no longer inspires any powerful emotion (positive or negative) in me. While I’m more than happy to leave school and see my family again, I’m apathetic about the holiday in general. We don’t dress up or decorate the house. We don’t prepare a grand feast and invite a dozen friends over. We don’t even exchange gifts anymore. Christmas doesn’t really mean anything in our household.

That hasn’t always been the case. December was the busiest month throughout my childhood years in New Zealand. We’d do Secret Santa at school, sing Christmas carols at church, and help turn the house into a green and red wonderland. Lights, stockings, candles placed everywhere. Boxes of all sizes and colors completely covered the trunk of the tree. Fridge filled with enough food to feed a family of ten for a week. The cleanup was a nightmare.

But somewhere along the way, we just stopped seeing the point. Without ever discussing about it, we all decided that we’ve outgrown the festivity of the season. Perhaps this decision coincided with our move to the States or the disintegration of my parents’ relationship or my inception into angsty teenage-hood. I can’t know for sure, and it doesn’t matter. The point is that our attitudes toward long-standing traditions fluctuate with changing circumstances. Once upon a time, Christmas break was something I looked forward to for the whole year and always wished would last just a day or two longer. I still wish it could be longer, but only because I want to sleep in and not do homework. My love for the end-of-year holidays has nothing to do with Christmas.

3 thoughts on “Holiday Blues

Leave a Reply

