F@#$***

Writing

I have a very foul mouth. If even an hour of my life was taped for reality TV, probably 60% of my lines would be bleeped out. On second thought, that happens to just about everyone who goes on reality TV. But back to the point. I wasn’t always like this. At one point in my life, during my younger Christian days, I actually regarded cussing as sinful. Along with lying and “taking the Lord’s name in vain.” Yeah, I was a sanctimonious little bitch.

Anyhow, I picked up the tween cussing fad when I was around 12 or 13. Everyone was doing it, throwing shits and bitches around the playground and demanding to fuck each other in everything they do. Integrating a “fucking” or a “shitting” into a sentence was the most gratifying experience ever. At least we had wits to keep our dumb little antics outside of the classroom. For about two years, I cussed just for the sake of cussing. I mean, if I can throw in an expletive somewhere without screwing up the grammar, then I sure as hell will make it happen. Somewhere along the way my severely underused brain realized that I was acting like an absolute retard. So I stopped doing that and became a natural cusser. Profanities just flowed out of me when it felt right. I never had to ruminate over the effectiveness or accuracy of using any particular expletive.

My predilection for obscene language does affect my writing, and that’s actually what I wanted to talk about today. Lacing prose with profanities is a stylistic technique that I often enlist in some of my stories. I think it’s necessary to capture the animated and frustrated workings of the teenage mind. Also for the sake of authenticity, since some of my more “troubled” characters are based on actual people who can’t put together a sentence without mentioning private parts. Yet, people have told me to go easy on the profanities because using them routinely dampens the impact they could have when the situation calls for it. It’s hard to argue with that, and I have been thinning out the fucking profanities in both my normal posts and my fiction pieces. Over-saturation is never a good idea.

But to be quite honest, I’ve never been bothered by obscenities. Writing shouldn’t always be confined by decorum and modesty. If vulgarity and irreverence is the theme you want to go for, then by all means go all the fuck out. It’s entertaining and funny as hell. You know, like The Wolf of Wall Street. Or that Beckett play. Waiting for Godot or something? Well, that one’s neither entertaining nor humorous, but whatever. Point is, sometimes it’s okay to shove a shitload of mud into your motherfucking mouth and just write whatever the hell you feel is right for your damn story.

Okay, I’ll restrain from cussing for the next two posts.

7 thoughts on “F@#$***

  1. Wow, love this post and your blog, too. Very entertaining!! I haven’t really used a lot of cuss words in my writing, but this post kind of makes me want to let loose and throw a few in there. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi there! I know I should comment something related to the post but…
    That gif of the stirring coffee has me mesmerized. (And in my defence, what has stirring coffee has got to do with cuss words anyway?)
    nevertheless, a nice and relatable read 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

