Throwback Thursday: Androgynous Toys

Throwback Thursday, Uncategorized

Like every other girl growing up in the early 2000s, Barbies were my world. Yeah I know, I’ve been a basic bitch since Pre-K. I’m sure girls still buy and play with Barbies, but with iPhones and shit around they’re no longer as special as were 10, 20 years before. Anyhow, every Christmas and Birthday, my parents would get me a new Barbie and my brother a new set of Lego or a toy car or something a lot more intellectually stimulating than my anorexic blonde models.

Looking back now, I’m amazed that I never took any interest in any of my brother’s toys. We had this tiny play room between our rooms (I honestly don’t know why I remember useless shit like this), so all my naked and broken Barbies would be scattered among his Lego pieces and Walkie Talkies and action figures. Whenever I went in to play, I’d just never notice anything except for my dumbass dolls. It’s like those bricks and cars and controllers were invisible.

I just thought they were none of my business, in the same way that paying for health insurance and taxes wasn’t any of my concern. Yet. Maybe it’s because we’ve all been told, subliminally or not, that Legos belong to boys and dolls belong to girls. For me anyway, that’s the reason I didn’t form an opinion of Legos until I was too old for them. Too old. Huh. Maybe appropriate age bracket is another skewed perspective we have on toys.

The fuck, idk what I’m talking about right now. And idk why I sound like a feminist because I’m not one, but I can’t deny that gender-specific social attitudes have influenced the way I think and react to my surroundings. I mean, who knows? If Legos were considered a gender neutral toys, if the packaging weren’t so exclusively masculine, I would have fell in love with them instantly, because I’ve always loved puzzles and board games (which are kind of similad I guess).

8 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Androgynous Toys

  1. It’s funny that you’ve posted this now as actress Caitlin Stasey has recently launched her website herself.com which is like a massive fuck you to gender inequality and a massive stand up for feminism. It touches briefly on androgynous toys and exploration of gender, so seeing your post on my feed after exploring that site really called out to me. Great piece as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great piece! Oh man, Legos. I had always considered Lego a gender-neutral toy until a few years ago they started making sets “for girls”, all pink, bigger figures and you can build like pet shops and coffee shops and other supposedly girly shit. When I was growing up every kid I knew had Lego. Hell, my mom had Lego as a kid. I had both Legos and Barbies. Used to build bitchin’ two storey dollhouses (and guillotines. Why? Because.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I used to play with lego all the while, and my cousin Emily had a massive toy farmyard for as long as I can remember when we were kids. I don’t know if it was because we grew up in an agricultural family but things like barbies were always balanced out by what would be considered ‘boy’s toys’ despite us both my mum and her brother only have girls.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. People around me never explicitly deemed Legos to be a “boy toy,” but there was this unspoken consensus that it’s just something girls are not interested in…which I just don’t understand. But it’s awesome that your family was so open-minded about toys 🙂

      Like

  4. Interesting post. I’m a kid of the 80’s and Barbies certainly were the toy for girls back then along with My Little Pony and Rainbow Brite. However, I was the only girl in my neighborhood and ended up playing Star Wars (yeah, that was huge then) with the boys most of the time. I think that fed my inner tomboy.

    I’m interested in your thoughts on feminism. It seems to be a dirty word today and I don’t really understand that. It’s not as though it’s a football team that someone roots for, it’s just an idea that women and men are equals. Perhaps you could flesh out your thoughts and do a post on that?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually considered writing a post discussing my thoughts about feminism, but I knew it would be a long, long rant and I haven’t had the time yet. But one day definitely I will write about it. I think the backlash against feminism is not aimed at its ideals (which I agree with to a certain extent) but at its believers. Some people, myself included, find certain feminists too extreme and single-minded. They say that they’re fighting against gender inequality but they only focus on one side of it. You can’t expect men to join the fight with women if you completely disregard the discrimination/judgement they are subject to everyday.

      Like

Leave a Reply

