Me me me me meeee

Musings/Rants

I had a déjà vu moment on the plane yesterday. I was sitting next to two other college kids around my age. They could have been NYU students. We didn’t talk or even look at each other that often, but I kept thinking that maybe I’d bump into them around the city, in some random diner in the East Vilage or on the subway to Dumbo, or just in Econ class. There has to be some reason that three young adults were placed in the same row two days before spring semester took off.

That reminded me of my preschool days, when I was convinced that everything and everyone revolved around me. Maybe it’s a very typical prepubescent mindset, but the idea that most objects/people I encounter actually have nothing to do with myself and my life just made zero sense to me. I was still young enough to believe that everything had a purpose. Oblivion was a concept way too complicated and bleak for my untainted little head. I believed that everyone I spotted on the streets would, perhaps unbeknownst to me or them, shape my future in some small or big way. How or why never occurred to me. All I knew is that they wouldn’t have appeared in my consciousness if they weren’t important. Nobody passes by without leaving a footprint.

I don’t know if that was naive or narcisstic. It didn’t matter anyway, because I was a five year old dumbass. At five you can skin a cat and people would still call you cute. Uh I would, anyway. What I mean is that as a kid you have an excuse to be self-centered and naive. At nineteen you don’t. So I don’t know why the hell I thought that I’d meet those stupid people again just cuz they were my age and acted like me. Maybe because things like that happened in movies all the time, and I just wanted one part of my life to feel like a goddamn Hollywood cliche. Maybe I just haven’t been around college kids for too long. At least that’ll change soon enough.

3 thoughts on “Me me me me meeee

  1. We as humans come into contact with each other all of the time. Sometimes we see certain personalities, daily, and sometimes people come and go in our lives like the blowing sands of gentle breezes on peaceful beach shores. My take on these things – enjoy what we can while we can. People like each other, many times; it is always nice to spend time working or playing with those we know. Do we ever really know each other? Sometimes. I try to appreciate what I can, relationship wise, and let go of what just cannot be. I try to remember not to take others for granted; times like these are the best of times. They are.

    Nice post.

    Check us out, here, as we try, try, try: http://www.oval-magazine.com & jcm3blog.com 🙂 .

    Like

Leave a Reply

