Moments.

My Awesome Life

If you’re one of those few awesome people who follow my blog regularly, you’d know that I’m obsessed with time. I used to write about it frequently until I realized that my obsession is so ironic because I’m always wasting time.

If I have a two hour gap between classes, I’d spend it stalking people on social media or playing that stupid new iPhone game instead of finishing those seven excruciatingly long pages in Symposium. That means those seven pages are reserved for midnight, after Netflix and dinner with friends and the internship columns and the ten other distractions that I can’t even remember right now. But at midnight I’ll remember that I haven’t showered in two and a half days and, being obsessed with time, I’ll feel obliged to change that. So instead of reading those pages and getting a good seven-hour sleep for the test tomorrow morning, I’ll hop in the shower and start thinking about the dumbest shit like the first time I’ve ever listened to Nirvana or that remarkably beautiful moment each fall when I realize that the leaves are no longer green.

And before I know it it’s 12.40am, but for some reason I don’t start reading until 1.40am. By then I’ll feel so guilty for wasting so much time that I only read 3 pages for 20 mins and hop into bed at 2am. But ofc I don’t sleep till 2.30 because my perpetually nostalgic mind will wander down memory lane to a bunch of obscure memories from 6, 7, 8 years ago that I had long since forgotten.

I haven’t stopped feeling guilty about my inability to conserve time until yesterday morning at 5am, when I went to sleep. I got back from a friend’s friend’s birthday party (because I have no friends of my own) at 3am, slightly tipsy and quite lonely and very, very depressed because all my (very few) friends ever talk about is their significant other halves while I, talented kind and exceptionally beautiful, remain directionless in life and partnerless in love. Anyhow, right after I got back two of my friends wanted to Skype together. I obliged despite my exhaustion because in that frame of mind I would have slept next to the security guard just to be next to someone. And as we Skyped and bitched about people and life and love and school, my drunkenness and loneliness and self-loathing slipped away one by one, so subtly that I didn’t notice anything until happiness, the intoxicating happiness associated with familiarity and company, pretty much made my head explode. Life is better with company. I fucking hate that line because it’s so fucking true.

And that, finally, brings me to my grand epiphany. Maybe wasting time is how we’re supposed to college. Maybe not knowing how to focus on the important shit is the beauty of our 20s. Drinking past midnight. Talking till dawn. Procrastinating on absolutely everything. Sleeping so late every night that morning doesn’t begin until the clock hits double digits. Reminiscing on the not too distant past, speculating on the not too distant future: nostalgia and optimism so closely intertwined that they’re almost interchangeable. It’s toxic, I know. But it’s temporary. We can’t afford to waste time and abuse our bodies so carelessly in our thirties, or forties, or God forbid fifties. Maybe it’s okay to be that reckless, spoilt college kid once in a while.

8 thoughts on “Moments.

  1. Great post! I wish I had had a similar epiphany a little earlier. My college days are behind me and yes, after school real life hits like a ton of bricks – marriage, children, real jobs, real responsibilities. I think the early 20s are supposed to be a beautiful mess.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally relate. I’m so good at scheduling a thing then finding a silly reason to not do it and later on blame myself for improper time management.

    Like

  3. “Maybe it’s okay to be that reckless, spoilt college kid once in a while!!”

    Maybe you are not sure? 🙂

    I came across a nice line recently “Drift, Drown or Decide”.

    Nice cause at the grand 60 there is still a lot of indecision and this was good ‘tag line to keep me focused on what I wanted of life.

    I think it is ok to drift in some areas, drown in others as long as we make decisions on the really important issues.

    Enjoy college and the 20’s

    And enjoy life … it is a grand ride after all!

    Like

  4. I am twenty, too. The first big challenge is killing that procrastination virus. It’s been four months since I have done my job training, and now I am supposed to have made the report for it; we called it final project consisting four chapters. When I write this, I stuck in the third chapter. Making my own deadline may be the best solution. I should have done the whole project by middle June. Wish me luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

